In the State of Florida, crimes are measured by degrees of severity in two broad categories; misdemeanors and felonies. Misdemeanors are generally known as “lesser” criminal acts. While punishment is usually less severe (misdemeanors have a maximum jail time of 1 year) a conviction of a misdemeanor means a permanent criminal record that may be detrimental to your future career, educational and life prospects. Therefore, a charge of a misdemeanor should be taken seriously. See Florida Statute 775.08
The State of Florida identifies two classes of misdemeanors, first degree (punishable by up to one year in jail and a $1,000 fine) and second degree (punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine).
Let us help you understand your rights when charged with a misdemeanor; contact us for a free confidential initial consultation.
We are here to help you navigate the judicial process.